We are experienced teachers.curriculum developers.auctioneers.
Our team of auction educators is truly unique. We’re not only practicing auctioneers, but we’re experienced teachers and curriculum developers who know how to make courses both convenient and interesting for busy auctioneers.
Novalis offers two forms of approved CE for licensed auctioneers in Illinois:
Are you interested in signing up for continuing education courses?
Take 3, 6, 9 or 12 hours per day.
Classroom courses to be offered in the fall of 2020. Please check back later for specific dates, times, and locations.
Do you want an alternative to taking continuing education courses in the classroom?
Our home study program is an easy and convenient way to take the CE you need to renew your license. You must renew your license in Illinois before December 31, 2020.
How Much Continuing Education Do I Need?
Illinois: Complete 12 hours of approved CE every renewal period, of which 6 hours must be mandatory courses. Licenses expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, and CE must be completed during each renewal period prior to license expiration. For more info click here.
Classroom Courses vs. Home Study
Our classroom program is ideal for the student who wants to take CE courses with fellow auctioneers and a live instructor. We will offer our quality auctioneer continuing education classroom program at various locations in Illinois in the fall of 2020. View the schedule below for dates and locations.
Our home study program is ideal for the student who wants to take CE any time without the hassle and expense of traveling to a class. You will receive a course booklet (by your choice of either mail or email) as well as information on selecting a proctor for the exam required by the state in order for you to receive credit. Returning Novalis students can use their previously-approved proctor, if appropriate. Home Study courses may be subject to Shipping & Handling fees and sales tax.
Last Updated: January 2018
Registration can be completed through our secure web site, by mail or fax using a Novalis order form, or by telephone. If you prefer not to order online, feel free to call or e-mail us and we would be happy to send you an order form. For classroom courses, preregistration is required. Due to space considerations, no walk-in registrations will be accepted at the course sites. Students must bring photo identification and their auction license number to all classroom offerings.
Payment for all courses is due upon your registration in the course. Payment may be made in the form of an approved credit card (Visa or MasterCard) through our secure website, or by check. The course materials cannot be sent or accessed until payment is received. As such, if time is of the essence, we suggest that you pay by credit card. All returned checks are subject to a $30 returned check fee. This fee is in addition to any fees charged by your bank or financial institution.
For home study courses, refunds will be given if requested by phone or e-mail within 15 days after the course materials are shipped, as long as the course materials are returned to Novalis at the student’s expense, and are deemed at the sole discretion of Novalis to be in their original condition. The refund amount will be the tuition paid less a $15 administrative fee per course, and will be paid within 30 days of cancellation. However, you can transfer your registration to a classroom course (if available) for a $15 administrative fee per course, as long as the course materials are returned to Novalis at the student’s expense and in their original condition.
For classroom courses, refunds will be given if requested by telephone at least 48 hours prior to the start of the course. The refund amount will be the tuition paid less a $15 administrative fee per course, and will be paid within 30 days of cancellation. Students who do not notify Novalis within 48 hours of the start of the course will not be entitled to a refund. However, they will be allowed to order a home study offering of the course, if available, for a $15 administrative fee (plus any shipping and handling). Under no circumstances will refunds be given for students who are “no shows” (i.e., students who fail to attend class or provide notice, for any reason).
Time Requirement for Course Completion
A student may take up to 90 days from the initial date of registration to complete a home study course with Novalis. This 90-day period is a Novalis policy only and is unrelated to the continuing education completion deadlines or license renewal deadlines for your particular state. It is the sole responsibility of the student to insure that he/she completes courses in time to meet their state requirements. Novalis may re-activate an expired course for a student for an additional 90 days for an administrative fee of $15 per course, as long as the course has not changed and is still available under the same conditions and with the same characteristics as when the student originally registered.
Cancellation of Classroom Courses
Novalis reserves the right to cancel any course with fewer than 10 registered students. In the event of a cancellation, students will be given the opportunity to either attend a different classroom offering, or to switch to a home study version of the course (if available).
Attendance in the Novalis classroom offerings is strictly monitored. A student who arrives late, leaves early, or otherwise fails to meet the state-mandated time requirements will not be issued a Certificate of Completion, even if they pass the required test. For home study courses, students must meet the state-mandated time requirements (hours per course) and must certify that they have done so as required by Novalis. Student progress is monitored, and students who fail to meet the mandated time requirements or other completion requirements for a course will not be issued a Certificate of Completion.
Multiple Certificates of Completion
Your tuition includes one Certificate of Completion per course and the reporting of results to one state. If you desire credit in an additional state where Novalis is licensed to provide continuing education, then a certificate and/or the reporting of results to that state will be issued at a cost of $30, if the request is made at the time of registration. If the request for additional certificates is made after the original registration, then a fee of $50 per certificate will be charged and additional testing may be required. Finally, a fee of $25 will be charged to replace any certificate that has been lost.
All tests and examinations will be graded within three business days of their receipt by Novalis. Certificates of Completion are sent out immediately thereafter by either U.S. mail or e-mail.
Students who require that their tests be graded in less than three business days from the date they are received by Novalis can request our Rush Grading Service for an additional fee of $15 per examination.
Administrative and Test Re-Take Fees
Students who fail the state required course tests, fail to submit course evaluation forms, or require a test re-take (if allowed in their state) will be charged an additional fee of $15 per examination or evaluation.